Frozen Drink #6: Pina Colada Icee – Near Austin, TX

August 12, 2016

The Buc-ees experience was, indeed disappointing but any long-term relationship is likely to have ups and downs. So, when I ran into another Icee machine at a Flying J’s outside Austin, TX, I was happy to see my old friend and excited to let it redeem itself.

I walked over to the “Quench Station” and saw an “Out of Order” sign on one Icee machine. Immediate disappointment!

Quench Station - Out of Order.jpg

Now, there was a second machine that was in operation but my flavor options were greatly reduced. Most notably, there was no cherry available so I selected pina colada instead.

The Icee emerged with its familiar foamy expression. It filled to the top of the dome easily. I did overfill slightly, expecting it to form that perfect dollop-y peak. Instead, it merely spilled down the side of the dome, indicating that the texture was a little more liquid than is ideal for an Icee– not bad, but not perfect.

The flavor of this drink was immediately reminiscent of… sunscreen. It had a pungeant, coconut flavor that filled the mouth as well as the nose. This speaks well of the of the richness of the flavor, however. The coconut flavor of this Icee was bold and satisfying.

Pina Colada Icee.jpg

It is possible that my own consumptive indulgence was given to match the gustatory boldness, however. As a result, I did not take the usual care in moving my straw and mixing my Icee! Consequently, by about 1/3 of the way through, I noticed significant pitting and pocketing in my drink. I was able to compensate a bit but it was too late: the last 1/4 of the Icee was markedly watery and dim in flavor with some chunkiness in the ice.

Flavor

  • Quality: 7
  • Consistency: 7

Texture

  • Quality: 8
  • Consistency: 7
Leave a Reply

